Who We Are

The Lake Tahoe Destination Stewardship Plan acknowledges that the land to which DaɁaw (Lake Tahoe) belongs, is the homeland of the wá∙šiw (Washoe) people, that the Washoe are the original stewards of the land in and around the Lake Tahoe Basin, since time immemorial. The Washoe Tribe of Nevada and California has maintained their role as environmental stewards of the Lake Tahoe Basin (despite policies that sought to eradicate them) by continuing to advocate for their homelands and to protect, respect, and take care. ʔuwaʔáŋawi (Thank you) for participating in this process and your ongoing commitment and support of this initiative.

An unprecedented collaboration of public and private sector organizations from the greater Tahoe region have come together to develop a shared vision and destination stewardship plan to better manage outdoor recreation and visitation. For the first time, regional land managers, local governments, visitors authorities, the Washoe Tribe, and non-profits are working together on a coordinated destination management framework that will inspire all to take care of Tahoe.

Visitor Authorities

Travel North Tahoe Nevada

Andy Chapman, CEO/President

Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority

Carol Chaplin, President & Chief Executive Officer
Alternate: Stuart Maas, Director of Marketing

North Tahoe Community Alliance

Tony Karwowski, CEO/President
Alternate: Amber Burke, Marketing Director

Visit Truckee-Tahoe

Colleen Dalton, CEO

Visit Reno Tahoe

Ben McDonald, Director of Communications

Tribal Organization

 Washoe Tribe of Nevada and California

Wendy Loomis, Executive Director, Washoe Development Corporation


Tahoe Fund

Amy Berry, CEO

Tahoe Prosperity Center

Heidi Hill-Drum, CEO

Public Agencies

California Tahoe Conservancy

Kevin Prior, Chief Administrative Officer
Chris Mertens, Senior Environmental Planner
Alternate: Bob Larsen, Environmental Program Manager/Tahoe Science Advisory Council Program Officer

City of South Lake Tahoe

Joe Irvin, City Manager
Alternate: Lindsey Baker, Assistant to the City Manager/Public Information Officer

El Dorado County

Brendan Ferry, Deputy Director Tahoe Planning

Placer County

Stephanie Holloway, Tahoe Operations Manager, County Executive Office

Nevada Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

Colin Robertson, Administrator, Nevada Division of Outdoor Recreation

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Julie Regan, Executive Director
Jen Self (Project staff support)

USDA Forest Service Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit

Erick Walker, Forest Supervisor
Vicki Lankford, Deputy Forest Supervisor
Daniel Cressy, Public Services Staff Officer

Washoe County

Alexis Hill, Washoe County Commissioner District 1
Alternate: Andy Chapman, IVCBVB

The CREST Team & Project Partners

A team of experts in the field of destination management are guiding this process and gathering meaningful information to help stakeholders and the Core Team achieve a shared vision that is community-based and achievable. The Project Team brings a wealth of experience and thought leadership to destination management and stewardship challenges. The team’s expertise ranges from development of ground-breaking destination management plans and stewardship initiatives to impact tourism programs, workforce training, business sustainability, outdoor recreation, and even backcountry safety and inclusion initiatives.

Managing Partner

Center for Responsible Travel

Gregory Miller, Ph.D., Executive Director

Alix Collins, Director of Marketing + Communications
Tara Hetz, Community Engagement Facilitator

The Center for Responsible Travel (CREST) is a global nonprofit organization based in Washington, DC dedicated to increasing the positive global impact of responsible tourism. CREST provides evidence-based research and analysis to governments, policymakers, tourism businesses, nonprofit organizations, and international agencies to solve the most pressing problems confronting tourism, the world’s largest service industry.

Co-Managing Partner

The Travel Foundation

Jeremy Sampson, CEO

Kelly Galaski, Sustainable Tourism Specialist
Elke Dens, Global Programs Director
Terry Brown, Program Manager

The Travel Foundation is a leading global sustainable tourism organization that works in partnership with governments, businesses, and communities to develop and manage tourism to maximize its benefits for communities and the environment. Founded in 2003, it has since worked in over 30 countries around the world to create better futures for tourism destinations, accelerating change towards a more balanced tourism model through advocacy, training, demonstrating good practice, and enabling collaboration between the many tourism stakeholders.

Lead Strategist

Better Destinations, LLC

Cathy Ritter, CEO

Better Destinations is a consultancy founded on a belief that healthy visitor economies grow from addressing a holistic range of considerations and engaging stakeholders in shaping destination priorities. The consultancy draws upon CEO and Founder Cathy Ritter’s decade of experience as state tourism director for both Colorado and Illinois and record of creating insight-led solutions.

Economic Strategist

SMG Consulting

Carl Ribaudo, President & Chief Strategist

Carl has pioneered the use of economic modeling, scenario planning and asymmetric thinking in tourism and recreation industry strategy development.  He has developed and implemented a wide range of services designed to create value and improve the competitiveness of destinations. Most recently, he has developed new strategy ideation approaches for destination tourism that tap into a destination’s creativity as a unique competitive asset.

Strategic Funding Consultant & Counsel


John Lambeth, Founder & CEO

John Lambeth is an attorney who specializes in creating and operating business improvement districts. He was the primary author of the Property and Business Improvement District Law of 1994 and assisted with the creation of the first property-based improvement districts in California. John and his team’s innovative funding mechanisms have generated nearly $2 billion for over 150 clients globally. The team delivers unequaled knowledge, depth and experience to destinations and communities that seek sustainable funding solutions to fuel their futures.

Economic Strategist

Triple Point Strategic Consulting

Jeff Moffett, Ph.D., Principal

Jeff has thirty years of experience working in the fields of business development, economic forecasting, destination marketing, resource allocation, and political strategy. In 2013, Jeff founded Triple Point Strategic Consulting to provide data-driven marketing, strategic planning, and business analysis in a variety of sectors throughout the Western U.S. and Canada. Triple Point is frequently retained to develop economic forecasts and financial models.